Many workers in and near Cincinnati take a new job without giving much thought to Ohio’s wage and hour laws. They show up for work, perform their duties and expect fair wages in return. When employers care about their workers, they make certain that they follow all the state’s wage and hour laws. However, sometimes employers come up short in their duty to their employees.
How can you know if your employer remains compliant with the law? It can help if you understand the wage and hour laws yourself. Learning the basics can help you identify violations and then take steps to remedy the situation. Below you will find three of the most basic wage and hour laws for workers in the state.
- Breaks: Ohio wage and hour laws do not require employers to provide you with breaks. However, if you do receive a break of 20 minutes or less, employers must pay you for that time. Employers do not have to pay you for meal breaks of 30 minutes or longer so long as you are completely relieved of duties during that time.
- Wages: Currently, the minimum wage for Ohio workers stands at $8.55 per hour. Tipped employees may receive $4.30 per hour, but their total hourly pay rate, counting tips, must equal $8.15 or more per hour.
- Overtime: In compliance with federal law, employers must pay their non-exempt workers 1 and 1/2 times their regular pay rate for each hour over 40 hours in a workweek.
Now that you have a basic understanding of these laws, you should find it easier to identify any violations on the part of your employer. If you are suffering from wage and hour law violations, consider taking your story to an employment law attorney to find a solution.